The Things They Carried: Chris Moore

In the Bethel History major we have a number of courses which are taught by faculty from sister departments like Religious Studies, Philosophy, and Political Science.  Dr. Chris Moore is one such faculty member.  Chris teaches International Relations courses in Bethel’s Political Science department, but he also teaches a few courses which are cross-listed in history – Revolution and Political Development (HIS241L) and Human Rights in International History (HIS324G). I sat down with Chris recently and what follows are his comments about the things he carries.

the-things-they-carried-moore-numbers

1. Bag. This is my bag, it’s leather Samsonite. I’ve already replaced the shoulder strap once.  It’s durable and has decent capacity.  It was an anniversary gift from my wife, Stacy, about six years ago.  I don’t have a tweed jacket with elbow patches, so this is my nod to the stereotypical professor in my mind.

2. Notepad. Even though most of my writing occurs electronically, I still like to have a small notepad on me for taking or leaving notes. This one looks retro and cool.  It currently contains notes on our open job search in the political science department.

3. iPhone and ear buds. I have a lot on my phone: email, calendar, many pictures of my kids (Sabrina is four and Tommy is one).  I have about 10 gigabytes of music, some of which I’m proud to admit, and some, well, not so much.  I’m using the ear buds to listen to a podcast if you see me wearing them on campus.  I also have a few games.  I usually have a Words with Friends game going with Prof. Van Geest, and I used to play Trivia Crack with my students until they gave up challenging me.  I’m on Facebook and you can find me on Twitter @DrChrisMoore.

4. Course Texts. These are two course texts from this semester. Affluence and Influence is the culmination of ten-year study of the role of money in shaping American political outcomes.  Surprise, surprise: the wealthy get more of their policy preferences enacted into law, even when a majority of voters oppose them.  I’m using this book in our political science senior seminar.  If there’s a subtheme of the course this semester, it’s different works on justice and equality.  The other book, Superpower, lays out three strategic foreign policy postures the United States can take in the post-Obama world.  I’m using it in my American Foreign Policy seminar.  I wonder which one President-Elect Trump might choose?

5. Pointer. I’m not what you’d call “great of stature”.  When I use maps or charts in class, which I do often, this is good for referring specific points.  I suppose a laser pointer would be more efficient, but this is better for comedic effect.

6. Dice. I use dice in class a lot: to determine if a quiz will occur that day, to create teams for projects, etc.  I use these dice, which are brass and are chromed, because they’re really heavy and they don’t roll off the table when I roll them in class.  I let students reroll if they don’t like the result for a quiz, but only if it’s their birthday.

7. Pens and Markers. Everyone needs them.  I always pack a few extra dry erase markers when I’m teaching in a room with dry erase boards.  I’m partial to black, except for grading, where I like red.  Is red too traumatizing?

8. Business cards. These tiny rectangular anachronisms are usually passed out at academic conferences.  However, I like to keep a few in my bag, because they make good reminder cards for a student or me if we’ve set up an appointment.

9. Reading glasses and case. I don’t often wear these, because they’re only for eyestrain, which only tends to manifest itself around finals week with particularly hard to decipher handwriting.

Leave a Reply

