We can’t claim him as a graduate of our department, but Mark Hintz, Bethel’s new vice president of university advancement, did graduate from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire with a bachelor’s degree in History. We talked to the head of Bethel’s development team about his undergraduate major and his career working with donors to universities (the University of St. Thomas, now Bethel) and other non-profit organizations.

What drew you to the History major in college, Mark? And what stands out in your memory of your undergraduate studies?

I wouldn’t say I was drawn to fundraising in college. The truth is, I wasn’t a very serious student while at University of WI – Eau Claire, until the very end, and I didn’t become a follower of Christ until age 26. At first I was interested in teaching at the high school level and I wanted to be in the humanities. However, my first two years of grades were not good enough to get into UWEC’s School of Education. I pivoted to law school as a goal after undergrad and took my studies more seriously. However, I took two practice LSAT exams and was worried about law school right away. The hope was to finish my BA in History, work for a couple years, and go to law school after saving some money.

In the last year of undergrad I created an oral history project for Vietnam veterans in the area. Originally, the research question was to understand why some vets returned from the war in opposition to it. What I didn’t know then was how much this would stoke my curiosity for people’s stories. This curiosity would later become the donor-centric way I’ve enjoyed fundraising for many organizations.

Let’s follow that thread… How did you go from majoring in History to working as a fundraiser with organizations like the Mayo Clinic, philanthropic foundations, and then the University of St. Thomas?

After working with the Boy Scouts of America in Des Moines, IA, I took a job with the Mayo Clinic, which was a giant leap in the professional side of fundraising. It was definitely a sophisticated operation but, more than any place I’ve seen, their desire to care about the donor as a whole person had an enormous impact on me. It was there that I recalled my love of people’s stories and the curiosity I had to help someone discover why and how their wealth could do meaningful things in the world. This desire to serve the donor as a philanthropic advisor meant that I could help them find their giving passions at Mayo but also anywhere. I remember that I once helped a generous donor find a national organization that was doing research in Fragile X because his grandson had the condition. At the time, Mayo wasn’t doing research in this area, so the best way I could help him was to find an organization that was engaged in this research.

While in Rochester I also volunteered my time with an organization called Camp Victory, helping them create their first capital campaign. In a visit with their most generous donor, God helped me discover something profound. At one point this individual sat back in his chair and said, “I had the most fun making this money, but now I’m having the worst time figuring out what to do with it.” It was in that moment that I realized I could do this for the rest of my career — help people discover meaningful ways to make an impact with the resources they’ve been blessed to receive. And for those who follow Christ there is an opportunity to discover a part of God’s story for their life. 

What made you decide to apply for your role at Bethel?

I am very grateful that Jennifer Scott, senior director of university relations, reached out because of a mutual friend. What excited me then, and still does today, is the opportunity to advance Christ’s Kingdom to a world in need through Bethel University and in partnership with donors, alumni, and friends.

What does a typical week look like for our VP of university advancement?

Meetings! I’m actually very relational by nature so it’s easy to fill my calendar with face-to-face visits, and I’d rather talk with a person than read or write emails. So my calendar is quite full, and I need to be disciplined with my time and tasks.

Right now I’m close to halfway through my initial 90-day plan. This is split up into thirds with an objective and goals every 30 days. The objective for the first 30 days was to “Be Curious and Relational,” and the primary goal was to meet as many people as possible within Bethel and among the volunteer leaders. By day 60 my goal is to “Be Visionary and Clarify Priorities,” and by day 90 I want to “Develop Structure and Discipline” for myself and my teammates. I have a weekly rhythm with the Advancement Leadership Team to review our progress against goals, report on our 90 day “rocks,” and identify-discuss-solve issues that are brought forward.

I also have a regular check-in rhythm with President Allen and his Cabinet around our top strategic priorities for the University and the external relationships that want to partner in these priorities. The rhythm with my leadership team, the president and the cabinet will remain constant and consistent after the first 90 days even when it will become more commonplace for me to be outside of the university with donors and alumni. 

To tie things together… Do you feel like your History major was good preparation for the work you’ve done in development? Did it shape any skills or traits that have served you well in your career?

Most definitely. I wish I could’ve seen it at the time, but I know now that my strong sense of curiosity and empathy for people and their stories was stoked and developed in my BA in History. I was known to say to colleagues at St. Thomas, “When we are listening we are learning.” It’s very meaningful to me that many donors, who have become lifelong friends, describe me as a good listener. 

If any of our students or alumni are interested in following a career path like yours, what would be a good first step for them to take?

Historians like to read, right? Well, I’d recommend reading The Ministry of Development by John Frank and The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn.

And reach out to me to grab a cup of coffee. Let me learn about why this career path intrigues you and how I might be able to help. My closest friend and mentor in fundraising always impressed upon me that it’s our job not just to receive money but to figure out all the many ways we can give to others.

Thanks to Mark for taking the time to answer our questions!

Leave a comment